Three affiliates from the NIA-funded Centers on the Demography and Economics of Aging are among 75 regular members recently elected to the National Academy of Medicine. Terrie Moffitt, affiliated with the Duke Center for Population Health and Aging, is the Nannerl O. Keohane University Professor at the department of psychology and neuroscience . She was elected for “path-breaking contributions to our understanding of human development, including her seminal theory of the development of antisocial behavior, which has had wide-ranging influence on clinical diagnosis of childhood conduct disorders, the early-years intervention movement, and two Supreme Court decisions.” Daniel Polsky, Robert D. Eilers Professor of Health Care Management and professor of medicine of U Penn was recognized for “his contributions to advancing methods of economic evaluation of health care services and his research examining the functioning of physician labor markets.” Rachel Werner is professor of medicine and health care management of U Penn. NAM cited her contribution for “advancing our understanding of how health care provider performance measurement and incentives often bring unintended and undesired equity consequences that compete with efficiency goals.” Polsky and Werner are both affiliated with U Penn Population Aging Research Center.


Terrie E. Moffitt

Rachel M. Werner

Related Resources

More Information