NIA awards up to $5 million to Wake Forest University and AFAR to continue leading the Research Centers Collaborative Network (RCCN)NEW YORK — Wake Forest School of Medicine and the American Federation for Aging Research (AFAR) have received a renewal award for up to $5 million over five years from the National Institute on Aging (NIA), National Institutes of Health, to continue their management of the Research Centers Collaborative Network (RCCN). The RCCN brings together scientists from six NIA center programs focused on addressing a wide range of issues affecting older adults. Established in 2018 through a $2.5 million award over three years from NIA, the RCCN aims to spur multidisciplinary efforts in aging research across the NIA centers through five complementary strategies: conferences, pilot programs, early career faculty education, web-based resource identification tools, and fundraising/proposal development.

The six NIA centers under the Research Centers Collaborative Network are:
• Alzheimer’s Disease Research Centers
• Centers on the Demography and Economics of Aging
• Claude D. Pepper Older Americans Independence Centers
• Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence in the Basic Biology of Aging
• Resource Centers for Minority Aging Research
• Roybal Centers for Translational Research on Aging

These six Centers encompass and engage more than 90 individual centers throughout the United States.

Read the full press release.